Company Secretary Awards 2013

CGIUKI Company Secretary Awards 2013 short list announced
London, 20 September 2013 – CGIUKI, the membership and qualifying body for professionals working in governance, risk and compliance, is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2013 Company Secretary Awards, part of the CGIUKI Excellence in Governance Awards 2013.

ICSA’s Excellence in Governance Awards celebrate the highest standards in governance, rewarding both organisations and individuals for outstanding achievements in the field. The Company Secretary Awards are a way of recognising a colleague or a team’s achievements in this highly technical and competitive sector, where a huge variety of tasks are undertaken by a wide range of organisations. The awards, which are prestigious on both a professional and a personal level, culminate in a gala dinner in central London which plays host to over 600 top governance professionals, and is widely recognised as the industry event of the year.  

Individuals and teams demonstrating the highest standards in the company secretarial role have been shortlisted in the following categories:

  • Company secretary of the year (listed companies)

Donald McPherson, Alliance Trust; Mary Hitchon, Petrofac; Ruth Pavey, Capital and Counties; Tim Hartin, Westpac Banking Corporation

  • Company secretary of the year (unlisted companies) 

Jeremy Small, AXA; Marcos Castro, London Metal Exchange; Paul Forster, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

  • Company secretary of the year (not-for-profit)

Gill Brown, Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust; Joanna Farquharson, Tennis Foundation; Kevin Rowan, Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust

  • Company secretarial team of the year (listed companies)

Alliance Trust; Alliance Trust, Dundee; Barclays; Direct Line/PwC; Petrofac; Standard Life; Westpac Banking Corporation

  • Company secretarial team of the year (unlisted companies)

London Metal Exchange; LV; Towry


  • Deputy company secretary of the year

Ann French, GE Capital UK; Lisa Daniels, Man Group; Robin Jack-Kee, Allianz Insurance

  • The one to watch

Ceri Charles, Equiniti David Venus; Jonathan Miles, Equiniti David Venus; Julia Herd, Capita; Ruth Pavey, Capital and Counties

There will be an additional award for outstanding achievement announced at the awards ceremony. There is no shortlist for the Outstanding Achievement Award.

The awards will be presented at The Brewery in London on Wednesday, 13 November, at an event hosted by Financial Times journalist Lucy Kellaway. To book a table call Jarvis Fisher on 020 7612 7032 or email

Simon Osborne FCIS, CGIUKI's Chief Executive said: ‘We have seen a very high calibre of entries this year across all sectors, both in terms of individual company secretaries and in the team categories. All those who have been shortlisted should be congratulated on their nominations. We wish everybody luck on the night.’

- Ends -

Media contact:
Maria Brookes
+44 (0)20 7612 7062
+44 (0)7890 649 143

Notes to Editors:

1.    The chair of the judging panel is David Parkes FCIS, Company Secretary, BAE Systems

2.    The judges (in alphabetical order) are as follows:

Fiona Evans ACIS, Group Company Secretary, Intertek
Douglas Parkhill, Director of Finance and Resources, Missing People
Paul Smillie, Director for Movement Democracy and Company Secretary, YMCA
Duncan Wood, Company Secretary, Cairn Energy

3.    Details about the CGIUKI Excellence in Governance Awards 2013 can be viewed here:

4.    The Chartered Governance Institute UK & Ireland (CGIUKI) is the membership and qualifying body for professionals working in governance, risk and compliance, including company secretaries.  Our members work in all sectors and at every level of seniority. With over 100 years of experience, we champion high governance standards by providing qualifications, training, high-quality guidance and support (including technical resources, publications and software), and through our work with regulators and policy makers. Website:

ESG Summit: 2 May 2024 Download this year's course catalogue

Search CGI