Skip navigation

Governance Champion of the Year - Shortlist 2021

Shortlist 2021

  • Tesse Akpeki, Director and Lead Strategist,
    Tesse Akpeki Associates
  • Fiona Jenkins, Governance and Assurance Manager, Hafan Cymru
  • Dr Sam De Silva, Partner, CMS
  • Zoe Bucknell, Co-Founder, Kuberno Limited

About the Award

A champion may be many things. They may be a visionary, someone who opens doors and creates ‘the new’. They may be an evangelist, inspiring and challenging others. Or they may be the person who drives and pushes for recognition – for others, and their profession.

This award recognises those members of the governance community whom you think deserve the title ‘champion’. Perhaps they lead by example, advocating and demonstrating through their behaviours the value of good governance. Or maybe they have the personal touch, bringing in new talent, nurturing and helping them to flourish. Perhaps, simply, they’re the people who won’t be ignored, who will make a noise and stand up for what’s right.

The judges are looking for nominees who demonstrate any or all of these qualities and more, and who make a significant and very positive impact upon other people and upon their organisation. They are looking for evidence of why nominees are champions, and why this is the year they should win an award.

2019 award winners

2020 Winner:

Fiona Chalk, Governance Consultant & Trainer, Governance4FE

Sponsored by: