Skip navigation

Champion for Governance

A champion may be many things. They may be a visionary, someone who opens doors and creates ‘the new’. They may be an evangelist, inspiring and challenging others. Or they may be the person who drives and pushes for recognition – for others, and their profession.

This award recognises those members of the governance community whom you think deserve the title ‘champion’. Perhaps they lead by example, advocating and demonstrating through their behaviours the value of good governance. Or maybe they have the personal touch, bringing in new talent, nurturing and helping them to flourish. Perhaps, simply, they’re the people who won’t be ignored, who will make a noise and stand up for what’s right.

The judges are looking for nominees who demonstrate any or all of these qualities and more, and who make a significant and very positive impact upon other people and upon their organisation. They are looking for evidence of why nominees are champions, and why this is the year they should win an award.

We regret we cannot accept self-nominations for this award.

2023 award winners

2023 Winner:

Tesse Akpeki FCG, Leadership and Governance Strategist, Tesse Akpeki Associates Limited

2023 Winner:

John Mills, Company Secretary, Santander UK

2022 Winner:

Dr Natalia Blagburn, Portfolio Director, Mercia Asset Management PLC

Sponsored by: