The Chartered Governance Institute UK & Ireland - Irish Region

Irish Region

Get to know the Irish Region Council

Meet the team

We are The Chartered Governance Institute UK & Ireland – Irish Region, which provides thought leadership and international recognised qualifications for everybody working in governance. Our professional network supports a growing community of over 600 chartered secretaries and more than 200 students and affiliate members, many of whom work in governance, risk and compliance in Ireland.

The Chartered Governance Institute UK & Ireland – Irish Region's services include guidance on technical issues, such as the provisions of the 2014 Companies Act, training, qualifications, CPD and networking events, regular email briefings and online recruitment services. 

If you are interested in joining the Council, please contact us.

Meet your local Council

Salvador Nash FCG, Irish President

Salvador Nash FCG, President

Salvador Nash is a Director in KPMG and Head of its Company Secretarial practice, the largest provider of company secretarial services of any accountancy firm in the country. A Fellow of The Chartered Governance Institute UK & Ireland, he is President of the Institute in Ireland and a member of its Governance and Nomination Committee.

Salvador also represents the Institute on the Company Law Review Group, the statutory advisory expert body charged with advising the Minister for Business, Enterprise and Innovation on the review and development of company law in Ireland.

Aofie Kernan, Irish Secretary

Aoife Kernan ACG, Secretary

Aoife is an Associate Director in KPMG Legal Services, Dublin. Aoife assists a large number of clients, from small startup companies to large multinational organisations, with their company secretarial affairs. Aoife assists clients with their annual company law compliance obligations and provides advice and assistance with matters such as company formations, company re-registrations, changes in share capital, company dissolutions, group re-organisations and corporate governance matters. Aoife is an associate member of The Chartered Governance Institute and is also secretary to Council.

Claire O’Brien, Student Champion

Jamie Hedderman, Student Champion

Council members

  • Ruairí Cosgrove FCG
  • Charlie Brown FCG
  • John Burns FCG 
  • Nadine Conlon FCG
  • Niamh Duddy FCG
  • Fiona Gildea FCG
  • Adrienne Lonergan FCG (Treasurer)
  • Jillian O'Sullivan FCG
  • Melissa Scully 
  • David O'Callaghan
  • Gavin Coleman ACG
  • Shannon Grace (Assistant Secretary)

Committee members

Governance and Nomination Committee:

  • Ruairi Cosgrove FCG (Chair)
  • Conor Sweeney FCG
  • Salvador Nash FCG
  • Deirdre Mooney FCG
  • John Burns FCG

Events Committee:

  • Fiona Gildea FCG (Chair)
  • Adrienne Lonergan FCG
  • Olive Moran
  • Niamh Duddy FCG
  • Sinéad Humphreys ACG
  • George Alton ACG
  • Jenny McGowran ACG
  • Kyle Brown GradCG

Company Secretarial Practice Committee:

  • Jillian O'Sullivan FCG (Chair)
  • Ray Hunt FCG
  • Deirdre Mooney FCG
  • Trudy Kealy
  • Conor Sweeney FCG
  • John Burns FCG
  • Jessie O'Reilly (Secretary)

Education Committee:

  • Claire O'Brien GradCG
  • John Burns FCG (Chair)
  • Leanne Fielding ACG
  • Elaine Hughes
  • Ciara Farren

Contact the Irish Region

For membership and study enquiries please contact the student and membership team:

Search CGI